From Leonard Cohen to compost

leonareI was cool once. I read the French existentialists in public (in my defence, I never wore a beret) and was obsessed with Leonard Cohen.

I’m now obsessed with . . . compost. I love to make it. I love to turn it. I love to sift it. I love to use it. The entire composting process is inordinately satisfying.

I view the world in compost terms. Many Monday afternoons are spent driving, spade onboard,  along the route used by the horse riding school over the week-end. My kids call it the poo run.

I feel a thrill when the milk is left out and turns sour enough to chuck on the heap. I’ll eat a banana when I’m not hungry just for the peel.

I love that something discarded and old turns into something life giving and wonderful. And I love the fact that Leonard is touring again.

My compost heap

My compost heap

4 Responses to “From Leonard Cohen to compost”


  1. 1 shoreacres March 11, 2009 at 3:39 am

    Jeannine,

    This is a bit long, but I couldn’t resist. Over at the Weather Underground blog site, there’s a trash-tomato-growing challenge going on. Here are the instructions, just made for a compost lover:

    “Here is a simple way for anyone to turn trash into organic tomatoes. One $3 tomato plant baby can yield as high as $1000 worth of tomatos these days (ref~ Primetime).

    First, you need a bucket at least 12 inches across the top with holes in the bottom of it. The ones I’m using I picked out of someone else’s trash last week.

    Next throw your household compostable garbage in it. This includes coffee grounds & filters, egg shells, dryer lint, hair, any part of plant matter~ veggy & fruit (including weeds & leaves from your yard)~ paper bags, some torn newspaper (not shiny). Fill with garbage til you have a hole a little bigger than what you need for planting a little tomato plant. You’ll need to line the hole with a little dirt. Just enough that the young roots aren’t directly touching the garbage. Also put a layer of dirt on top, so you’re not looking at or smelling trash.

    Buy a little tomato plant & plant it in the hole. If it’s not near a trellis, now is the time to put in a cage or stakes. Don’t forget to keep moist.”

    My friends who’ve done it swear by it. I’m giving it a try this year, too.

  2. 3 Julie April 17, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Hi Jeannine, my name is Julie. I am married with two little girls, am currently living in Durban. My husband and I both love Sedgefield, and dream of moving down there. Just a bit difficult at the moment with how things are work wise. Just wanted to ask what is crime like there, can u walk or ride bikes in the street? My girls are 5 and 3 and we love being outdoors and would love to have a veggie garden…Just wanted to hear from another mom..Thank you for your time! Enjoyed reading your stories!

  3. 4 Jeannine April 17, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Hi there Julie. Crime in Sedgefield is very low. Like everyewhere, there are one or two incidents, but overall it’s very peaceful. Walking and biking is done by nearly everyone and their jaws would drop if you asked if it was safe. My kids walk the few blocks home from school without parents, as do most of their friends, and kids bike everywhere. Geriatrics in cars are way more of a threat than any criminals!
    The work issue is your biggest obstacle. There is no work down here. Either start a business or earn your living remotely (ie on-line etc). Don’t underestimate this, and plan well, a huge percentage of younger people who move down here are forced to leave becuase they cannot survive. Bear in mind too that it’s a desirable area so property is very expensive as are rents – and there is a shortage of rentals.
    That said, it’s a dream totally worth following. Living here is 80 percent pure joy, and that’s a pretty good stat! Good luck, and keep me posted on your progress.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 110,913 hits

Categories

Archives


