Blog stats and Ego

There are bloggers who display their hits, and bloggers who don’t. I hit my first milestone yesterday (modest blush) and then wondered why it mattered. Is it better to have 10 000 hits, or 100 dedicated readers, or 10 regular comment-ers?
Are those who display their stats A-types whose competitive urges are satisfied by having the numbers that prove popularity? If someone has stats up I always check and measure my own against them. What does that make me? (Rhetorical question. I’m an ego-driven competitor who should know better.)
And those who don’t display. Is it because their stats are embarrassingly puny or are they the type of secure zen-like individuals who feel that posting is enough in itself? That the right readers will find their cyber missives, and it’s irrelevant if it’s one or ten million?

While it’s cool to have high stats, it’s probably way cooler to have high hits and keep them to yourself. Of course, if my stats ever get to dizzying heights I sure as hell will put them out  for all to see.

3 Responses to “Blog stats and Ego”


  1. 1 shoreacres March 18, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    Laughing myself silly over here. Angst. Indecision. Inferiority. Went through them all, and finally wrote a little ditty called “Watching the Blogometer Roll”. Got it out of my system and have been pretty much fine ever since. Of course I’m going to post the link: http://shoreacres.wordpress.com/2008/07/27/watching-the-blogometer-roll/

    I do have my first “blogaversary” coming up, and that’s a grin for me. I’ve done far better with the numbers than I expected to in this first year, but the big surprise of the year has nothing to do with numbers.

    As for posting the stats, I did it once, for 22 minutes. Then, I decided to take them down. I do look at them every day, and try to understand what’s going on, but I’ve come to see them as a tool, rather than an end in themselves.

    • 2 Jeannine March 18, 2009 at 3:18 pm

      Funny thing, I had a very clear pic of you in mind as the zen blogger! I’d noticed that you have no stats up, and judging by the many comments on your blog it wasn’t due to lack of readers.

  2. 3 Lisa April 8, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Hi Jeannine
    Also had a big smile on me at this post.

    Wondering about your notion of the zen blogger. I must admit, I like writing, but I also like knowing that there are readers. Blogging is a strange mix – it’s a one-way broadcast, but with a definite invitation for two-way dialogue in response. I think if I never got a single hit or comment, I might eventually stop blogging and go back to diary writing.

    I’m a fan of a tool called Icerocket that tracks growth in visits rather than hits. (Or, more accurately, charts your traffic giving a breakdown of visits vs hits.) Many hits on a blog are random, once-off and fairly meaningless (ie someone that comes across your blog, gives it a cursory once over and doesn’t read anything), whereas the interesting ones are the people that return, read, sometimes comment…

    I can’t remember how I came across your blog, and whether I commented at the time, but I really enjoy your perspective, and check in from time to time. I love it as a window into life in Sedgefield. I love the choice you’ve made to trade in city acceleration for seaside rhythms. I love it that you don’t beat around the bush or pretend it’s easy or idyllic, but that you’re doing it anyway.

    All best
    Lisa


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 112,058 hits

Categories

Archives


