Seven Years – No Itch

dsc_3984

I’ve just changed all the sixes on my About page to sevens. Seven years since we went coastal.
Peter Mayle said of his Provencal life, ‘The days go slowly but the years go quickly’ – and that’s  how it is. Modern measurements are not as applicable as they were in the city.

I follow the tide table more closely than the calendar, the budding and dying of the garden makes seasons tangible and meaningful. The stillness of the winter tortoise deep under the compost heap, the strident 4am summer screeching of the guinea fowl, the endless raking of autumn – these are things I never noticed seven years ago.

I miss very little about my city life – getting a takeaway cappuccino, the luxury of choosing a restaurant that doesn’t involve pizza, a good book store.

I love that my children can swim naked all summer, that there are just over 200 kids in their school, and that most of them go to school barefoot for six, hot months of the year. I love that only a handful of kids have PlayStations and that they play pirate games and are all still crazy about Lego.

I love storing wood for the winter, I love growing food, I love that small tasks and things are fulfilling and that many daily goals are mundane and easily achieved.

I really just love living in Sedgefield.

4 Responses to “Seven Years – No Itch”


  1. 1 Pedro March 27, 2009 at 9:59 am

    Pedro the Slow says hello!

  2. 3 shoreacres March 28, 2009 at 3:01 am

    Peter Mayle’s comment reminds me of one of my favorites from Annie Dillard: “How we spend our days is, of course, how we spend our lives.” It’s a rare gift to be able to spend them “just” living.

    Looking at the photo, I had wondered if tide tables might not be handy to have around!

  3. 4 Peter March 29, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Hi Jeannine,

    Given the topic of your post today, I thought I’d share this great quote I read just this morning.

    “30 years from now it won’t matter what shoes you wore, how your hair looked, or the jeans you bought. What will matter is what you learned and how you used it” – Author unknown


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 112,058 hits

Categories

Archives


