Butter Thief Fame

gallery5My little butter thieving bird has had fame thrust upon him. The Cape robin has been chosen by Birdlife South Africa as the bird of the year. I’m not sure what this honour entails – public appearances, paparazzi, bird seed endorsements. . .

It might explain the butter theft – a fat, round, glossy robin is a HOT robin.

 

1 Response to “Butter Thief Fame”


  1. 1 shoreacres May 8, 2009 at 2:08 am

    Well, congratulations to the robins! Butter-beaked little hotties that they are, they’ll probably end up as centerfolds in Audubon South Africa or something.

    I must say – all this robin talk has reminded me of a favorite song from my youth – Bobby Day’s “Rockin’ Robin”. All through junior high I had a favorite dance partner, and our ninth grade year (still junior high in Iowa, at that time) we won the dance contest at the Homecoming dance – to “Rockin’ Robin”.

    Since I’ve become a firm believer that you can find anything on YouTube, I went snooping and found a link to a pair of couples dancing to “Rockin’ Robin”. We didn’t do the head lifts, and at homecoming that year I was all in green and gray, but the dance routine is so familiar I could do it right now, if I could find a partner!http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iM_A6yrBvek
    Fantastic!! I’m sure a partner is no problem – and it’s NEVER too late for those head lifts.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 112,068 hits

Categories

Archives


