Quitting a Job in a Recession

I’m tired of being a single mother. Gavin is tired of selling endless hours  to The Man. After more than a year of a regular pay checks we’re losing our edge. Numbed by 9 to 5, and pension plans, and free-time determined by rosters we’re dull and drained.
I miss having to think about earning money in a creative way, I miss looking for angles all the time, I really miss the creativity and physical labour in doing up an unloved, ugly house.
Getting paid a lot of money for something you have no passion or real feeling for is ultimately demeaning. It’s dishonest and leeches your zest and sparkle.

I know whining about having a job in a time of cut-backs and financial suffering is annoying, and giving up an income in uncertain times is probably not all that smart. But the not all that smart decisions we’ve made before turned out to be the best decisions we’ve ever made.

By the end of our winter we will be back renovating and gardening, back together, back to worrying about money. I can’t wait.

The secret of happiness is freedom; the secret of freedom, courage.   Thucydides, Greek Historian, 5th century BC.

2 Responses to “Quitting a Job in a Recession”


  1. 1 shoreacres May 25, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Well, well… I must say I’m a bit startled, but not surprised.
    Every now and then I start to think about what the consequences of my own decisions may be 10 or 20 years down the road, but then I re-make the decision to not worry about it, and move on.

    Like you, I’ve discovered that “the not all that smart decisions we’ve made before turned out to be the best decisions we’ve ever made.” I’m hoping for a continuation of the trend 😉

    Besides, I figure anxiety in an economic recession beats the exhaustion of emotional depression, hands down.

    One of my own fav quotations is from Annie Dillard: “No one can test courage cautiously”.

    Linda, here is a link to a great article in todays NY Times. It’s long but I think you will like it, and it ties up beautifully with your latest post on varnishing.

  2. 2 Lisa May 26, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    Wow. Rather worry about a skimpy supply of money than a skimpy supply of happiness, I say. And I love that Annie Dillard quotation. Wishing you courage, freedom, happiness in abundance.

    Thanks Lisa!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 112,068 hits

Categories

Archives


