Scrabble, Cocoa and a Fire

DSC_6141Cape winters are our dirty little secret. When tourists think of Cape Town or the Garden Route they think surf, sunshine and sauvignon blanc. For eight months of the year that’s true, but for the other four it’s howling gales, driving rain, snow on the mountain peaks and icy seas.

Every winter I have my little fantasy. No, not that fantasy. . . The fantasy where we all sit around the fire, drinking cocoa, chatting about great books and playing Scrabble. Tried that today, the board got tighter and tighter with 3 letter words, the highlight was in round three when Thomas managed to get to four letters with ‘fart’.

By round six they were begging to watch Star Wars again, the episode with General Grievous in it, which they have seen 10 times. By round seven, I was happy to leave them to the wisdom of Yoda, put the cocoa away and open the red wine. Maybe next winter.

4 Responses to “Scrabble, Cocoa and a Fire”


  1. 1 ian in hamburg May 31, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    That fire looks really cosy. We enjoyed some warm fireplaces in various places around the country. A warm fire is always a treat when you live in an apartment without one. I think for that reason we’ll probably come SA again in winter.

    I love a fire too, just something wonderful about it. At least you have good heating in your part of the world, for some reason us South Africans pretend winter doesn’t really exist. Everything is designed for summer, and every year we’re kinda surprised when we’re cold.

  2. 2 Peter June 3, 2009 at 10:30 am

    Not sure what’s worse. A Cape winter or a UAE Summer. It reached 50oC this week. Btw. Are the pretty tiles on your file place the ones you got in Abu Dhabi? I tried to find the shop a couple of weeks back but without luck. Mina Souq right? Near the carpets?

    You win with the UAE summer, Peter, no question. Those aren’t the tiles from AD, but the ones I got remind me a lot of them. I still haven’t put them anywhere! Those were from the Iranian Souk, near the fish market, where you took those amazing shark pics. I think it’s also called the plant souk? Not much there aside from stall after stall of plants, some plastic goods, and then the amazing Iranian guy with the ceramics. He’s not there all the time, goes back to Iran regularly to restock. Let me know if you find him.

    • 3 Peter June 7, 2009 at 5:54 pm

      Hi Jeannine,
      Just to say thanks for the directions as I found Iranian guy yesterday. I had been looking for him in the carpet souq across the way. This was an equally strange location for him, between all those plant and plastic shops. He had some great stuff though but too expensive for what I’m after. I was looking to tile (Spanish/Arabic style) my entire staircase back home. Came to over 2000 Dh! I’ll try to feature him on my blog and maybe he’ll give me a better deal.
      Peter

      Geez, a staircase like that would be absolutely stunning! I love that look.
      The Iranian guy isn’t cheap, but the tiles are pretty unique. What’s 2000 for a lifetime of climbing beautiful stairs 😉

  3. 4 shoreacres June 4, 2009 at 2:18 am

    I forgot – it is your winter! I had a fireplace in my last apartment and made good use of it – I love falling asleep by a fire. Where I am now there are apartments with fireplaces, but they charge a premium for them just as they do for water views. Since I could afford only one pleasure, I chose the water.

    I had one warm Christmas while in Liberia – it was completely disorienting. The other years I was in Europe for the season, and the cold and snow was disorienting in its own way!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 111,432 hits

Categories

Archives


