Where the streets have bird names

I walk everywhere, and I must walk purposefully because I’m always asked for directions by tourists on holiday.

This is no easy thing in Sedgefield.

The road were built haphazardly as cottages sprung up, they randomly change from dirt to tar, there’s no grid or definite pattern, and the streets are named after birds.

It’s ok when it’s Weaver way, or Kingfisher drive, or Crane walk. But try directing a tired, jet-lagged Brit or German to Piet-My-Vrou avenue, or Suikerbekkie street or Tarentaal weg.

It’s worth it though, the names are charming and it’s fun matching birds with streets. Some are romantic in an evocatively cottagey way – I’ve always had a secret hankering to live in Sedge Warbler Way.

DSC_6377

2 Responses to “Where the streets have bird names”


  1. 1 Lisa June 20, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    What a cool post 🙂 I’ve been house hunting recently. One of the show houses was in Sanatorium Road. I couldn’t even bring myself to look at the house; the street name was too offputting.

    Yikes! It does conjure up images of iron lungs and sputum. . . even a bit of a Stephen King book setting.

  2. 2 shoreacres June 23, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    Good heavens. I grew up on “East 8th Street North”. And then we moved to “South 13th Avenue West”. Of course, that was a function of geography as much as anything else – hundreds of midwestern towns were laid out on grid patterns because – well, it was big, and flat. The courthouse square was the center, and everything moved out from there.

    That’s ok. I think my inner child lived on something like “Sedge Warbler Way”. There was that brief visit to Sanatorium Road, but I was just passing through 😉


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 112,068 hits

Categories

Archives


