Old Wooden Boats

DSC_6315

You can’t beat the romance of old wooden boats tied to a jetty. These two have been here since we moved down 7 years ago, weathered with the patina of summers and seagulls.
Kids play on them, a daring fisherman sometimes liberates one for a night’s catch, they’ve been submerged during floods and storms, salvaged and up-righted in the calm sunshine that followed.

They have no names and no owners, the paint is peeling and wood gets softer with every season – a part of lapping lagoon life until that final storm adds them to the drift wood that litters this wild Cape coast.

1 Response to “Old Wooden Boats”


  1. 1 shoreacres June 27, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    Feeling prescient, are you? Just amazing that you’d post this and then the storm would show up. Well, it is winter and storms do come, but still…

    In any event, it’s a great photo, and I do love such boats.
    I’m glad you got this shot just in case they don’t fare so well.

    It is funny, I’d been meaning to photograph them for ages and just suddenly decided to take my camera on my daily walk along the lagoon. Of course, as you say, it is winter so storms were at the back of my mind. . . .

    I’m glad I have a pic but I sure hope it’s not the last one I take of them.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 111,447 hits

Categories

Archives


