Sunken Old Wooden Boats

The day after my post on the romance of wooden boats our first big winter storm hit. My poor boats are now under water, awaiting rescue. The sun is out for the first times in days so hopefully, when the water subsides, they can be salvaged to survive another season.

Filling with water as the swells rush in.

Filling with water as the swells rush in.

Pale blue and red boat upside down and about to sink.

Pale blue and red boat upside down and about to sink.

Final minutes above water.

Final minutes above water.

3 Responses to “Sunken Old Wooden Boats”


  1. 1 shoreacres June 27, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Oh, my gosh! I came over to comment on the OTHER boat post and look at what’s happened. I want to come right over and take care of that! Actually, they may be ok. I don’t know what the custom is there, but here smaller boats often are sunk to protect them from hurricanes. If you can do it right, and minimize the movement, they can come through it with minimal damage.

    As they say – update at 10!

    You would be the perfect one to sort it out varnishgal! It’s raining again so nothing’s going to happen today. As soon as the rain stops I’m going to see what’s up – I’ll pull them out myself if I have to!

  2. 2 Brendan February 10, 2010 at 10:45 am

    Tis a shame to see such lovely wee boats in such a state! Yar! As a fellow mariner, I say going to sea is a sickness and salt the cure!! I have never heard of sinking a boat to save it…. but it does make sense, it would take little harm at the bottom on a nice sandy bed, but refloating it would be the trick. I wonder…. I have a wooden boat too, and if it sank part of me would sink with it. I love my boat to its wooden core. She has the body of a fishing trawler and the heart of a sail boat! I hope your boats float again!

  3. 3 Jeannine February 10, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Hi there Brendan. Thanks for your wonderful comment – I really love it, it’s poetic and joyfully reflects your passion for wooden boats and the sea.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 111,432 hits

Categories

Archives


