Strawberry & Champagne Ice Cream

__Strawberry__ChampagneTwo days and Gavin leaves again for Abu Dhabi – the month has flown – and we have a new plan. I’ll fill you in on the details later. A lot of champagne has been drunk, a lot of shell fish has been eaten, and my jeans have shrunken slightly in the wash.

With the last glass of the last bottle I made an ice cream I’ve been wanting to try – just never seemed to have a spare glass of champagne until now. It was as delicious as I had imagined. Sweet, slightly boozey, creamy and fruity. A class act dessert, and dead easy to make.

Ingredients

500g ripe strawberries (riper the better); a few teaspoons of sugar; one small glass of champagne; 1litre of good vanilla ice-cream

Method

Cut the tops off the strawberries and cut in half. Layer the berries in a meduim pot, sprinkling a teaspoon of sugar on each layer. Pour a small glass of champagne over the fruit and place a tight fitting lid on the pot. Place in a warm spot and leave for 8 hours.

After 8 hours the berries should be soft and very fragrant. Mash the fruit with a potato masher until pulpy, but not too pulpy – should be chunky with small bits of fruit still intact.

Soften the vanilla ice cream, just soft enough to stir, not runny. Add the fruit pulp to the ice cream, mix in well, and freeze for about 4 hours. Looks great served in glass bowls, it’s a very delicate pale pink colour, tastes superb.

4 Responses to “Strawberry & Champagne Ice Cream”


  1. 1 Lisa September 29, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    OK, that sounds divine. I’m actually quite miffed that you don’t have a picture of it! On pictures… it looks a bit like you’re dolling up your posts with pics found on Google images. Slap me if I’m wrong – but if I’m not… I’d say chuck ’em; the writing’s interesting enough without them; there are copyright issues, and your homespun snapshots are muuuuuuuuuch more interesting and fun. Sorry to moan. I swear it’s cos I didn’t get any of that gorgeous-sounding ice cream…

  2. 2 shoreacres October 2, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Whoo-hoo! I did it! Never have champagne around, but discovered splits in the grocery store, so I took the plunge and gave it a try. Absolutely divine. Mom thought so, too. And, she got the rest of the champagne 😉

    There’s a new ice cream in our stores made by Haagen-Daz (or however you spell it). It’s called “Five” and has only cream, eggs, sugar, milk and flavoring. None of those guar gums and other chemical sounding ingredients. It’s wonderful, and made the dessert even better.

    Me, I like the pic. I think a nice image or two adds, and it’s never made any dif to me whether homespun or not – although some of your photos are among my favorites – like the little boats.

    Anyhoo – there’s a new dessert in the files, and we’re all glad of it!

    • 3 Jeannine October 2, 2009 at 2:23 pm

      Mea culpa Lisa. I do like to use my own pics but on ice cream day my camera was down at my mom’s place and no one wanted to wait while I went to fetch it. Camera and ice cream never overlapped but I will substitute the pic when I make it again – sooner rather than later!

      Well done Linda! Your vanilla Haagen Daas sounds superb, and I had a chuckle at the mental image of your mom enjoying the leftover champagne!


  1. 1 Fun in the Sun | the green hair mermaid's wedding Trackback on September 14, 2011 at 8:12 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 112,068 hits

Categories

Archives


