Secret Life of Builders

DSC_7318

Four poles - start of my staircase?

Finally, finally I’ve found a builder to do the B & B renovations. The process seems esoteric and mysterious. Monday he came round and measured, nothing until Wednesday when a pile of cement mix was dumped on the pavement. Thursday morning brought a lot of banging and digging and four poles were planted and cemented into the ground. Friday – nothing.

I’m just taking a zen approach and taking it on faith that I will have a structure that links the ground to the upstairs deck. I’m hoping it looks like a staircase.

2 Responses to “Secret Life of Builders”


  1. 1 shoreacres November 14, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    Well, we’ll all travel along with you. I’m just glad you’ve found someone, and hope (oh, how I hope!) that he’s diligent, honest, dedicated, knowledgeable… or that he keeps showing up 😉

    I’ll not tell you all the contractor tales from our storm recoveries. I’ll just have a little cup of tea, and softly begin chanting, “Oooommmmmmmm….” while I wait for the next installment!

    • 2 Jeannine November 15, 2009 at 8:46 am

      Stay in that lotus position Linda! I’m hoping tomorrow morning will herald a return of the crew – I guess the cliches about contractors are cliches for a reason.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 112,068 hits

Categories

Archives


