Ice Cream Maker

Stawberry ice cream - blissful taste of frozen stawberries and cream.

My mom got me an ice cream maker for Christmas. I’m always a bit leery of gadget-y appliances, they tend to sit unused in cupboards, but this one is a gem.

It’s a basic Krups model and uses pretty simple technology. You have to freeze the metal-lined mixing bowl for 24 hours before using it, I just keep mine constantly in the freezer so I don’t have to plan ahead. You make your ice-cream mix 12 hours ahead of time and refrigerate it. Pour the mixture into the icy bowl and start the machine – basically a stirring paddle that churns the mixture around the frozen bowl. I put it on as we sit down to eat and you have divine, home-made ice cream in 20 to 30 minutes.

It comes with a great recipe book, the methods are really simple, and the results are fantastic. I’ve made chocolate and fresh strawberry ice cream so far – both superb.

I’m going to buy yoghurts too and freeze those for a quick healthy-ish pudding. The possibilities are really endless, I’m sure I’m going to go crazy with experimenting for a while before settling down to a few favourites.

Cool gadget - Krups ice cream maker.

4 Responses to “Ice Cream Maker”


  1. 1 shoreacres January 13, 2010 at 3:33 am

    Oh, dear. Oh, yum. That sounds so easy…..

    Ice cream truly is my downfall. I can resist chocolate, cookies, cake… But if there’s ice cream in the freezer, I can hear it calling. I always answer, and the answer’s always, “Yes”.

    Good ice cream’s so hard to find in the stores, though. This would be the solution. Maybe the ice cream fairy will bring me one!

    Right now, I’m going to go make some coffee and try and get this blog out of my mind before I pick up the car keys for a run to the store 😉

  2. 2 Jeannine January 14, 2010 at 8:58 am

    Never having been to the States, but from watching movies and TV series, it seems as if you guys have completely got the ice cream thing down.
    Unless you go to speciality stores here, the flavours of ice cream are pretty much limited to the standard few – choc, vanilla etc. The flavours and varieties in your part of the world are mind blowing – I would be a complete glutton, no question.

  3. 3 shoreacres January 16, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    Oh, flavors. Yes, we have flavors – my personal favorites are Bailey’s Irish Creme, Southern Blackberry Cobbler, Cinnamon and Mint.

    But many ice creams taste delicious and look like a lab experiment gone bad when they melt – they’re full of ingredients I can’t even pronounce and am not sure I want to eat.

    The great advantage of the freezer is you can make ice cream with – oh, you know. Milk. Cream. Eggs. Sugar. Flavoring.
    In fact, one specialty brand here’s come out with a line called “Five”. That’s right, just those five ingredients I listed and not a guar gum in the bunch. Wonderful.

  4. 4 Lisa January 20, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    I want one!! Actually I have this terribly quaint manual one. But yours looks soooo sleek. If you can get some green tea powder (“matcha”) try making green tea ice cream… I once made it and it rocks!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 110,913 hits

Categories

Archives


