Sea Slugs Return

My tea drinking spot invaded by slugs.

The lagoon mouth has closed and the repugnant sea slugs have returned.  Trapped in the warming lagoon until the next floods, they are multiplying by the minute. With their gross, slimy, semi-translucent, undulating flesh they are marring my waterside experience.

Heaping horror on horror, they have now taken to leaving the water and oozing their fleshy selves onto the grass. I took my tea down to the boats and very nearly sat on a cluster of the critters.

I’ve had nightmares about stepping on a mollusc during a swim, now I have to broaden the terror to include settling my butt on a squishy nest of them during a picnic.

In the flesh and. . .

. . . in the grass.

6 Responses to “Sea Slugs Return”


  1. 1 lis March 24, 2010 at 8:37 am

    They are super nasty. Kiran picks them up and plays with them all the time, their grossness is lost on him – boys will be boys.

    • 2 Jeannine March 24, 2010 at 8:53 am

      Yup, totally hideous. My boys love them too, think they are quite beautiful with their reddish greenish gleam. Jake says they look like jewels. One more weird thing about an abundance of testosterone!

  2. 3 Mike March 24, 2010 at 10:35 am

    Not nice, I agree, but they do have a place in the extremely complex biology of Swartvlei. They process something by eating it and something eats them or their decaying remains. I’m a devotee of James Lovelock and his Gaia theory, so I tend to grant even the most unlovely creatures the right to exist. Just look at what monoculture has done to our planet – that species intolerance taken to an extreme, I’d say.

  3. 6 shoreacres March 27, 2010 at 6:12 am

    Well, now ~ first I have to greet the boats! There they are – I still have that lovely photo you took last year. One of these days I’ll do something with it.

    That first slug is very nearly the color scheme of my blog. Pretty amusing, since I often feel like a slug when I’m trying to get something up. 😉 But, eeeeuuwwww….. what I admire at even a few inches distance I certainly wouldn’t want to step or sit on.

    We used to go to Leech lake in Minnesota for vacations when I was a kid. Apparently the choice was based on good fishing – and they used those danged leeches for bait. They were about 4-6″ long and black, and yes, ma’am, they were the kind that used to be used in medical procedures.

    Double eeeuuuuwwwww…..


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 112,068 hits

Categories

Archives


