Tiniest tortoise ever

This little chap crawled our from under a bush today. It’s pretty late in the season for such a tiny tortoise, hope he’s going to make it through the winter.

8 Responses to “Tiniest tortoise ever”


  1. 1 shoreacres April 19, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Well, of course he’ll make it through the winter. You can make him a cozy nest, research his food preferences, and arrange playdates for him until time for hibernation sets in.

    Once he hibernates, it’s a piece of cake until spring! No?

  2. 2 Jeannine April 19, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    A sort of tortoise version of celebrity adoption? I would, but the critter has vanished into the bushes from whence he came. Just as well really. . .

  3. 3 oh April 19, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    Dear J,
    Just stopping by (after 2-week absence!) and this photo caught my eye and my breath – how dear! how cool that you captured his little story this way.
    I know that should I ever get to AFrica, and NOT on business (we work there a lot), I will fall in love. There is something special that comes out of everything to do with it. I cannot put my finger on it but love stopping here to get a bit of a feel for the truth of it. And having a look at what you’re looking at.
    Back to the kitchen – racing to get dinner to the table and make it all seem effortless! (yeah, my turn to cook this evening – egads, I volunteered. Explanation: we try to rotate it in this house…though I’m effectively the “default” chef.!)

    cheers!

    • 4 Jeannine April 21, 2010 at 6:37 am

      Hi there oh!
      Africa ain’t for everyone, but for those who do fall in love it’s a lifetime affair.
      What I really love about it is the ‘in the moment’ living. You don’t make five year plans here cos you just never know what’s going to happen next.
      Of course, the truth is, you can’t make five year plans anywhere, but us African’s are just aware of that!
      I sure hope you can have a long holiday here one day – default chefs deserve a break!

  4. 5 ian in hamburg April 20, 2010 at 5:42 am

    Sweet! I like the comparison with the bottle cap – and the strange similarity.

    • 6 Jeannine April 21, 2010 at 6:39 am

      Thanks ian! Love your posts on your holiday, and the pics are beyond superb.
      Funny thing about the little tortoise, he was so small and round that I felt this overwhelming urge to pop him in my mouth and eat him. Bizarre.

  5. 7 ian in hamburg April 21, 2010 at 8:41 am

    Maybe you were channeling your inner seagull. 🙂

  6. 8 shoreacres May 7, 2010 at 4:42 am

    My cat just came over to give me a quizzical look and try to figure out what I was laughing at so heartily. Inner seagull. Good grief 😉

    You reminded me of something I read or heard – can’t remember where. A West African asked an expat if he “liked” Africa. The expat said, “I don’t know. Sometimes I love it and sometimes I hate it.” The African fellow said, “That’s good. People who know Africa love her or hate her. People who just like Africa don’t know her at all.”


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 110,926 hits

Categories

Archives


