Pajamas ’til noon

The efforts by Chinese authorities to suppress one of Shanghai’s most distinctive customs – wearing pajamas in public – strikes me as decidedly unreasonable. This great story, in today’s New York Times, legitimately allows me to share one of my dark secrets with you. There are a few days in winter (ok, maybe more than a few), when I don’t get out of my pj’s and gown until noon.

Gavin and I split the early morning school routine.  I wake the boys, do breakfast, the laying out of school clothes, lunch box packing and general drill sergeant shouting. Gavin lies in bed until a few minutes before the school bell rings and then does the short drive down the hill to drop the kids off.

He always reckons I get the better deal – I don’t have to get dressed to do my share. It’s true; there is nothing worse than putting on cold, slightly sea damp, jeans first thing in the morning. I potter around the house and garden, make coffee and toast, read a bit, and check out the news on-line. Sometimes this takes me to 11.15, which is a pretty civilised time to shed my toweling dressing gown if you ask me.

Today we had a breakthrough, time ran away and the minutes to the bell were suddenly too few. Gavin did the school run in his dressing gown. The boys made him drop them off at the far end of the field, but there was no car accident or emergency which made exiting the car a necessity. I see the future, and it looks warm and fuzzy.

5 Responses to “Pajamas ’til noon”


  1. 1 China May 18, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    It seems to me my dear friend, that you have ‘life – style’ down to the perfect art…

    • 2 Jeannine May 18, 2010 at 3:15 pm

      Yip. And, in the interests of complete transparency, I should tell you that on this cold evening I am about to get into my gown and have a glass of wine.

  2. 3 mike May 18, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    Is transparency really an appropriate epithet when talking about walking around in night garb? What would the neighbours say? – to quote Dylan Thomas.

  3. 5 shoreacres May 22, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    There’s a reason for the stereotype about “bloggers in their pjs”. We ARE in our pjs, and our robes and our underwear and our swimsuits and – well,l suppose there’s even someone out there blogging “in the altogether”, as granny used to say.

    Personally, I love it. When I discovered you could sit down at your computer at 2 a.m. in a nightgown and go shopping or look up the date of the Norman conquest or find that 1954 recipe for lemon chiffon pie from Stone’s restaurant in Marshalltown, Iowa…. Well, that was my particular slippery slope.

    And I’m still sliding 😉


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 111,432 hits

Categories

Archives


