Cape Winter Garden

Summer suits me. More hours of daylight, no bulky clothes, the kids live outside. And it’s not so godamned cold.

There are a few things that make winter bearable. Fires at night and red wine, fewer wrinkles due to sun damage, and the spectacular flowering of the Golden Shower and the Cape Aloe.

The Golden Shower is not indigenous, it comes from South America, but it’s been in this garden for decades and being a complete indigenous puritan is a bit dull anyway.

The Cape Aloe is not only striking but, according to Medicinal Plants, pretty darned useful too. Powder ground from charred leaves is applied to venereal sores and the plant is very effective for those suffering from irregularity, or who need temporary relief from chronic constipation. I never knew that, but part of me is glad I do now.

Cape Aloes

Golden Shower, starting to cover one of the back garden water tanks.

3 Responses to “Cape Winter Garden”


  1. 1 shoreacres June 25, 2010 at 4:22 am

    I remember the Aloes from last winter – and I think we have the Golden Shower here. I’ll keep my eyes open – it looks very much like something I’ve seen.

    Are those some of your Iranian tiles that have been added alongside the step? They’re really quite lovely. How is all that going? Well, I hope.

    Re: the world cup – a lot of folks were astonished to see the American team do so well. They were interviewing a bunch that had called in “sick” to their work in order to spend the game at a local watering hole. It used to be that only happened for our sort of football.

    Oh – and I was going to tell you. My most recently completed varnish job was for a fellow I’ve worked for a few years now. I sent off an email to him and finally got curious about the address. Turns out he works for SASOL! Well, I knew that – I just never had known it was a SA company. Small world.

  2. 2 Jeannine June 25, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    ‘Eagle eye’ shoreacres! Those are the Iranian tiles, I wanted to see how they worked out. Putting the shisha smoking guy on the wall where we smoke shisha seemed a good idea!

    I am thrilled the US is getting into the soccer, and that they are having such a fab time in my country. There were so many naysayers when we got the opportunity to host the Cup, it’s beyond fantastic that it’s all working out so well. They reckon by the end of the tournament Cape Town will have had a million foreign tourists visit. In a country with our unemployment that is a boon.

    SASOL is one of our most successful companies – I even have SASOL shares!

  3. 3 oh June 26, 2010 at 4:27 am

    What? Small world, Shore and J – my company (not mine, but the one I work for) works with SASOL! Wow, that’s never come up in a conversation before and here you are both mentioning it!

    And J, these flower pictures are gorgeous, esp. the second with the covered water tank and the colors and tiles and the lighting. Just lovely.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 111,447 hits

Categories

Archives


