Spring, White Wine & Tin Trunks


Orange Vygies - or mesembryanthemums if we are being formal.

Since Gavin got back from Vietnam we have been working  – him catching up on deadlines for his newspapers and me listing  items for on-line auctions. I have scoured the cupboards for old unused tea sets, bits of tarnished silver, books that have been boxed for years – it is my current obsession. We have also found a packaging company so can now list our middle Eastern stuff, including the trunks (shameless self promotion.)

Yesterday at mid-day the two of us were done with staring at the computer screen. We opened an icy bottle of Sauvignon blanc, unwrapped a Camembert, and spent the afternoon in the garden. A garden which is an orgy of spring flowers and birds, the first blossom has appeared on the apricot tree too. Bliss – I am going to eat outside every day until next winter.

Spot the blossom.

4 Responses to “Spring, White Wine & Tin Trunks”


  1. 1 shoreacres August 29, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    I found the blossom! What kind of tree is that? Flowering or fruit?

    The orange vygies are delightful, too. I’m glad they have that name, or I’d just have to say “that m flower thingie.” I do wonder, though – they must be related to our chrysanthemums.

    I enjoyed looking at your trunk. It must be fun unpacking all that, although I know it’s a lot of work doing those listings. I’ve not sold a single thing on ebay since starting my blog – it’s just a time issue. I’ve put a few things in a consignment shop, and sold a few directly to an antique shop dealer. I might have gotten more on ebay, but my time’s worth something too, and when you add in the packing and shipping, all that – well, the ebaying just has to go.

    Once again I’m startled by our seasonal differences. I’m just dying, waiting for fall to get here and the heat to back off, while you’re delighting in the garden beginning to come in. I did cut back the Cape Honeysuckle about a month ago, and now it’s beginning to have some blossoms on the new growth. Funny – every year something somes and eats the buds for a while. It must be caterpillars. Hard to say, as they’re not on the ground.
    But the annual feasting seems to be coming to an end, too, and by the time the hummingbirds get here, they’ll have a little extra to eat!

  2. 2 Jeannine August 30, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Well spotted Shore! It’s an apricot tree, bountiful supplier of fruit but we only get a quarter after the birds and worms have had a go.

    Auctioning is a bit of a hassle – I’m forever queuing at the Post Office, and packing is a bit of a schlep. Geez, I’d really love to find a way of making money that requires no effort!

  3. 3 oh September 1, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    I would be happy just to buy the colors on those trunks. I don’t know if it’s my eyesight or just a general prefernce for drama and excitement, but the colors on your trunks, along with the design would be reason enough, right there, to purchase them and have them. What would you do with them? I can hear HM asking me. I don’t know. Just look at ’em, that would be something.
    Surely you will have no wink of trouble auctioning them, and you can maybe even take a book to read while you’re standing in the PO line?

    Like Shoreacres, above, it is just beyond me to fathom that you are readying for even more spring flowers and all the lovely la-la-ness of summer! how I adore spring and that lusty month of May as “Camelot” put it and how I love summer. I am holding to the last shred of it, having a mass of people over on Sunday night to toast the sunset before we close the pool the following week.

    Please send us some warmth as we head toward winter or at least feel warmly toward us!

  4. 4 Jeannine September 2, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    What a blast – a pool closing party!! Just the thing for a good murder mystery written by oh – a body flung in the pool as a furtive individual presses the button to cover the water surface. Only to be found (in a somewhat disgusting state) next spring!

    Have fun, and enjoy the last of summer, I hope it is warm!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 110,913 hits

Categories

Archives


