Outrageous Purple Vygies

The stress from the on-going drought has resulted in an abundance of blooms this year, but none can compete with our purple Vygies (mesembryanthemums). They are over the top, bordering on the obscene, the Vegas showgirls of the garden.

Vygies (mesembryanthemums).

1 Response to “Outrageous Purple Vygies”


  1. 1 shoreacres October 13, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    What? Stress makes things bloom? Hmmmm…. got to think about that one!

    Actually, it took me a while to learn that overwatering my Cape honeysuckle and bougainvillea kept them from really showing off. I started letting them go dry before watering really well, and they started blooming more. Of course, when you have to do pot plants, as I do, the trick is to remember to water before you kill the poor things off.

    I’ve got a photo of my most recent Cape Honeysuckle blossoms on my current blog. I was smart enough to keep the biiiiig file on that one, and I’ll use it as a desktop this winter when color’s a little harder to come by!

    I have a friend who’s doing “color blogs” right now. If she gets to purple, I know some flowers that deserve a little pub!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 111,432 hits

Categories

Archives


