Buddhas, Silks & Making Money

This Buddha is over half a metre high, weighs 35 kgs, and is made from solid Rosewood.

Our shipment is unpacked, our website is live, and we are ready for customers in the ‘gallery’. Yip, I have been the slackest blogger for a while, but real life has been getting in the way of virtual chronicling.

We’ve been painting walls, hanging paintings and polishing Buddhas for weeks. It’s all done now and we are ready for business, the first response has been great and we have made sales.

Our rather bizarre idea looks as if it just might work.  We’re going to continue living the coastal life by selling exotic items, from far-flung places, to people who stumble across our sea-side Aladdin’s cave.

12 Responses to “Buddhas, Silks & Making Money”


  1. 1 Mike November 4, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    Does he remind me of a polygamous politician that we know, I wonder?

  2. 3 ian in hamburg November 5, 2010 at 12:13 am

    Here’s wishing you good fortune in your new venture!

  3. 5 shoreacres November 5, 2010 at 5:25 am

    The website and gallery look fab! The design is beautiful, and – well, I just want to rub that Buddha’s tummy.

    One note – I accessed the Seven Veils Trading site with IE earlier tonight and now I can only get to it with Firefox. Could be a temporary glitch – but we don’t want any glitches for you! If it’s still not working for me in the a.m. I’ll let you know.

    I really do love those tiles – and the Ethiopian icon. I have two pieces of embroidery work from Ethiopia – crosses. The men do the work, using mirrors so that the side are identical. It’s just remarkable work.

    Same old-same old around here, except that someone tried to make off with my Cape Honeysuckle – they moved it to the top of the stairs and I’m sure were going to show up with a truck in the late evening. I fixed them. I dragged the plants inside, through the living room and out onto the balcony. Then, I made a huge sign that said: “Stealing Plants is Tacky. Luckily, We Have Cameras that Caught You. Go Away and We Won’t Press Charges.”

    They’ve been back outdoors for five days now, and haven’t budged. I think I scared them off. 😉

    • 6 Jeannine November 5, 2010 at 1:12 pm

      Outrageous! Trying to steal your Cape Honeysuckle! I’m glad they didn’t get away with it, it does sound as if you sorted the scoundrels out. I guess, in a way, it’s a compliment – that is one magnificent Cape Honeysuckle thriving in Texas!

      • 7 shoreacres November 6, 2010 at 4:16 am

        I forgot to mention – this is the first year I’ve had a huge crop of seeds. I’m out every morning checking them and intend to save as many as possible and start them in the spring.

        Your site’s loading just fine now in all my browsers, too. Here’s hoping for huge crowds doing their holiday shopping at your market!

  4. 8 oh November 7, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Dear J! What (serious) fun! Love the buddha and have one very similar. But not veritable, as yours must be. Will have to take a look.
    Love the description of your home as “Aladdin’s Cave.” (I love to shop, too, so am hesitant to take a look!)

    Happy summer and happy selling. I’m going there next.

    BTW, it’s cold here. Leaves are dropping sharply and smack us a we rake them. And holiday madness approaches. I will make lists and menus this afternoon.
    First, some coffee.

    So glad to see you hear but TOTALLY understand that blogging (much as we love it) is tough to accomplish weekly much less daily (not sure how some do it.)

  5. 9 Jeannine November 8, 2010 at 5:40 am

    Hi oh! I envy you cold holidays, it seems much more authentic. Snow, and fires, and hot toddies. Baking sun and sitting on the beach just don’t seem that Christmas-ey.

    You’re so right about blogging. And you get out of the habit so easily. I went out to get the washing yesterday evening and a bird (a huge bird!) had pooped all over my clean sheet. I stuffed it back in the washing machine then kicked myself. In the old days I would have photographed it and stuck it up as an easy, no brainer, post!

  6. 10 Mike November 8, 2010 at 6:03 am

    Hi Jeannine – If you want an emotive view at why cold holidays are so appealing look out for a DVD called “A Winter’s Night”. It’s a recording of a concert which Sting gave in Durham Cathedral before a live audience last September and it’s devoted to winter music over the centuries. It has a small orchestra, a Celtic harpist, traditional fiddlers, the cathedral choristers and other interesting performers.

  7. 12 oh November 16, 2010 at 5:27 am

    going to Amazon in search of Mike’s recommendation on “A Winter’s Night.” Very cool, so thanks!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 110,913 hits

Categories

Archives


