From Soap to Cheese

Soap eating field mouse is getting more brazen, but at least his dietary habits are normalising.

We had cheese burgers on Sunday and he came and sat at the courtyard table. The bold critter did not budge until he was handed some cheese, which he then nibbled in a very dainty and civilized manner.

8 Responses to “From Soap to Cheese”


  1. 1 Mike November 16, 2010 at 6:45 am

    I have a pair of woodpeckers nesting in a beautifully constructed hole in the syringa tree in my front garden. The fledgling was learning to fly yesterday. Each morning drongos, flycatchers, robins, thrushes line up to get into my lounge to collect their cheese rations.

    It’s this sort of thing that makes living here so special.

  2. 2 Jeannine November 16, 2010 at 8:54 am

    It is Mike. Tortoises, birds, snakes, spiders, rodents – there is so much wildlife here and we’re in contact every day. It’s a wonderful life.
    I’d love woodpeckers, you’re lucky. And those drongos -they are cheese addicts, it’s a complete obsession with them.

  3. 3 shoreacres November 16, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    That’s it. I’m in love. Of course, now that I think about it, I seem to have developed a “thing” for rodents since two of my favorite pets were a squirrel and a prairie dog.

    Your photo is a wonderful capture. I can’t say for sure, but I imagine he’s much happier with the cheese!

  4. 4 ian in hamburg November 16, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    All I can say is: sschweeet!

  5. 5 Jeannine November 16, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    Yip Ian and shore, he is adorable. A bit annoying when he runs around in the roof at 3am, but when you’re cute you just get away with stuff.

  6. 6 Mike November 16, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    The great thing about woodpeckers is that they go to bed at night! Having said that, though, I was at the front gate yesterday evening and I saw a little head peek out of the hole to see what the commotion below was all about.

  7. 7 oh November 27, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    What. a. great. picture!!!!!!!!!!!! Of course, from a distance, I can say how charmed I am and how dear that little mouse is. it is so easy to see how these little creatures are the stuff of storybooks. I love that he sat and waited for his cheese, and then had good manners as well!

    I keep forgetting that you would, of course, be able to sit outdoors. I look with longing at our patio furniture which is presently crusted with a bit of ice and some snow. It happened on Thanksgiving and that being a holiday, well, the snow had a quite a wow factor.

    And it would be lovely to have some on Christmas.
    Following that, I would be very happy to revert immediately to barefoot weather and be grilling outdoors, too.

    So glad I stopped here this morning. Now, time for some coffee!
    Hello and hugs to all!

  8. 8 shoreacres December 14, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    You’re either in a pre-Christmas frenzy or up to your whatever, working on the shop. Hope all is well – give us a wave one of these days!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 111,447 hits

Categories

Archives


