Nude Gardening and Pogo Sticking

The last of the holiday neighbours left in the middle of the night, and I’m not entirely sure that it was only to avoid driving in the heat of the day.

We’re a family that lives in isolation for 10 months of the year and some of our habits may have moved slightly beyond accepted social mores.

Gavin uses the outside shower in summer and often, as he strolls inside naked to get a towel, he sees a patch of garden that needs watering. Nude gardening has its niche no doubt, but for holiday makers sipping a morning coffee on their deck it might be a bit startling.

Thomas treats neighbours with a mixture of hostility and overriding curiosity. He insists on endlessly pogo-sticking right next to the boundary wall. It might not be all that restful to have a small boy’s head peer at you at regular 5 second intervals as you adjust your bikini straps.

6 Responses to “Nude Gardening and Pogo Sticking”


  1. 1 Mike February 14, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    Do you indulge in nude gardening, too, I wonder? Perhaps that explains your recent silence – you’re recovering from particularly severe sunburn, perhaps?

  2. 2 Jeannine February 14, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    I’ll never tell. . .

  3. 3 shoreacres February 19, 2011 at 4:11 am

    I’m just laughing. For a while, one of the more – unique – varnishers in the area was running around in a rusty old pickup with a bumper sticker that said, “Varnish Naked”. And in fact, I knew a fellow who’d do just that when he was working on a boat interior. I never witnessed it, but I knew credible people who did.

    As for the pogo stick – I suffered for a couple of years or longer after my last episode with one of the blamed things. I was heading down a sidewalk and everything was going fine until I hit a tree root. The pogo stick went one way and I went the other and landed on my hip. I thought I was fine until I couldn’t walk the next day.

    The worst part was driving myself to the ER two days later and explaining to the woman doing intake that, yes, I’d fallen off a pogo stick. I was about 40 or so at the time….

    • 4 Jeannine February 20, 2011 at 5:49 am

      Shore, you are a scream. You pogo-sticking at 40 does not surprise me at all – in fact, if you said the accident had happened last week-end I wouldn’t have been surprised!

  4. 5 oh February 19, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    aha! it’s a wonderful idea being outdoors half-dressed, if at all! I just can’t imagine at the moment even being warm enough to go outdoors without two layers of clothing….and I shall be whiter than the queen’s arse when indeed there might be such opportunity!

    They are wonderful, your winsome, garden-watering and pogo-sticking men! I daresay the garden profits from such a close relationship, and the image of the little face popping up over the fence has me smiling!

    What stories your sporadic neighbors will have to take back wherever they come from!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 111,432 hits

Categories

Archives


