Empty Shops & Bank Repos

The night I sleep best is the second one of any given month. The mortgage and utilities are paid and I have 28 days to get the next payments together. Things are bad in our little coastal paradise – half the shops in town are empty, the local school has shrunk and fee non-payments are at an all-time high, many of my friends’ husbands are working all over Africa to send money home.

The sign above says it all. Family Home. Not any more.

6 Responses to “Empty Shops & Bank Repos”


  1. 1 shoreacres October 19, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    Oh, Jeannine,

    This is just so painful. I know it must be even more so for you. Will things pick up during the summer? Tourists, and all? I hope your investment in the art works are still turning a profit – what a difficult time.

    I know I always had assumed I would be fine in retirement, but it’s clear to me now that I need to keep working. Even without total disaster, inflation could eat away at what savings I have, and if there are more market problems, the pension I was counting on will go “poof”! Worrying about myself is one thing – if I had kids, I’d be beside myself.

    Has the school shrunk because of people moving away? I presume so – that has to be especially hard. I’ll hope good news for you soon!

    Linda

    • 2 Jeannine October 20, 2011 at 12:56 pm

      Yip Linda, it is a worrying time for everyone. We are hoping for a good season, but the hope is tinged with resignation too, it seems people just don’t have money to spend.
      We are hanging on with bits and pieces of work and luck turning up here and there. We just don’t make long term plans, it really is month to month. It seems it’s that way for a lot of people now, all over the world.
      The school has shrunk as people have moved away. The majority of the town’s young people, those with families, were making their money in construction. An industry which has all but vanished now.
      It’s not all doom and gloom though, summer is settling in and the sunshine makes living cheaply much, much easier.
      Hope all improves on your side of the world too!

  2. 3 oh October 23, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    Very disturbing that it’s global.
    Nearly same sign in our neighborhood….and beyond.

    Will have breakfast and then rake fall leaves and you enjoy a summer day.
    It’s a crazy beautiful place not without its blemishes. Onward.

  3. 4 Marius November 3, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    Hi Jeannine. Sad to read this, but hoping for you and all affected that things pick up soon over the tourist season. We’re arriving in Sedgefield in two weeks! Very excited, despite the rather bleak financial outlook. Please take a look at my blog if you’d like. http://jasonmarius-wuwei.blogspot.com/

    Marius

    • 5 Jeannine November 4, 2011 at 7:17 am

      Hi Marius – I love the pic of your back garden! It seems you are about to make a big change and move onto your piece of paradise? I am sure you will love it, it’s the best thing we ever did, despite a few hardships. I am looking forward to reading more of your blog. Good luck with the move!

      • 6 Marius November 4, 2011 at 7:26 am

        Absolutely! Its divine isn’t it. We have an amazing view into our own forest! Its a huge change for two city boys, but we’re up for the challenge. Thanks for the reply. Will certainly keep in touch.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 111,432 hits

Categories

Archives


